The British School of Barcelona vs Oak House School
🇪🇸 Barcelona · Side-by-side comparison on verifiable public data.
Reviewed by Priscilla Han
Which should you choose?
Both run British, IB, so the difference is inspection rating, boarding, and fees rather than the curriculum itself; both carry a public inspection verdict (The British School of Barcelona: British Schools Overseas (BSO) "Outstanding in Every Category"; Oak House School: NABSS (National Association of British Schools in Spain) "Accredited member") you can compare directly. The choice comes down to target curriculum, whether you need boarding, and budget — verify fees against each school's own figures.
Both carry a public inspection verdict: The British School of Barcelona is British Schools Overseas (BSO) "Outstanding in Every Category" and Oak House School is NABSS (National Association of British Schools in Spain) "Accredited member" — a rare pairing where an official quality rating can be compared head-to-head. On cost, Oak House School has the noticeably lower entry fee — a material difference for budget-conscious families. See the table below for the figures, and verify against each school's own published fees.
Key Facts
| The British School of Barcelona | Oak House School | |
|---|---|---|
| Curriculum | British / IB | British / IB / National |
| Ages | 2-18 | 3-18 |
| Languages of instruction | English, Spanish | English, Spanish, Catalan |
| Annual fees | EUR 6,100-20,930/year (2026-2027), plus a one-off EUR 3,400 matriculation fee | Admission process fee 3,500 EUR (one-time, non-refundable); annual tuition published separately by the school (not stated as a fixed figure on the public fees page) |
| Enrollment | 2,000 | 1,100 |
| Boarding | Day only | Day only |
| Inspection rating | British Schools Overseas (BSO): Outstanding in Every Category | NABSS (National Association of British Schools in Spain): Accredited member |
| Accreditations | British Schools Overseas (BSO), NABSS, Cambridge International (Pearson Edexcel/Cambridge), International Baccalaureate (IB), HMC, Instituto Cervantes | NABSS, IB World School, Cambridge, Pearson Edexcel, Departament d'Educacio (Generalitat de Catalunya), CICAE, ACADE |
Strengths
- ✓Top 'Outstanding in Every Category' BSO inspection grade in 2024, retained from 2021
- ✓Dual sixth-form pathways - both A Levels and the IB Diploma - giving families genuine choice
- ✓Strong, published 2024 results: 100% A Level and IB pass rates, IB average of 34.2 points
- ✓Long-established (founded 1958) and backed by the global Cognita group since 2007
- ✓Large multi-campus network across Barcelona, Castelldefels and Sitges with age-stage specialisation
- ✓Genuinely trilingual outcome in English, Spanish and Catalan, not just English-medium teaching with a foreign-language class
- ✓Exceptional IB Diploma results, with a 36-point average for 2025 well above the 30.6 world average and a 97% pass rate
- ✓Dual British and Spanish curricula plus a choice of IB Diploma or Spanish Bachillerato at sixth-form level
- ✓Confirmed NABSS membership and IB World School status, with Cambridge and Pearson Edexcel as exam partners
- ✓Strong, well-equipped urban campus including pool, multiple gyms, science labs and dedicated music rooms
Trade-offs
- !Day school only - no boarding option for international or distant families
- !Premium fees, with senior years exceeding EUR 20,000 at the City campus plus a EUR 3,400 matriculation fee
- !Multi-campus model means experience and age range vary by site rather than a single unified campus
- !Publicly available pastoral and class-size detail is limited, with ratios described only as varying by stage
- !Annual tuition is not published as a clear figure on the public fees page, reducing cost transparency for prospective families
- !No explicit published EAL programme detail, which matters for families arriving with little English or Spanish
- !Single urban campus means more limited outdoor grounds than suburban international schools
- !Spain's lack of a graded inspection band makes independent quality benchmarking harder than for UK-inspected schools
- !Day-only provision rules out relocating families who need boarding
Best Fit For
- • Families wanting a top-inspected British-curriculum education in the Barcelona area
- • Students who may want to choose between A Levels and the IB Diploma at sixth form
- • Internationally mobile families seeking globally recognised UK and IB qualifications
- • Expat families needing English-medium instruction with Spanish language support
- • Families wanting their child to leave genuinely fluent in English, Spanish and Catalan
- • Academically ambitious students targeting a high-scoring IB Diploma pathway
- • Local and relocating families already settling in Barcelona who want a British-international option
- • Parents wanting a choice between the IB Diploma and the Spanish Bachillerato at sixth form
University Placement
School-reported · not independently verified
School-reported, unverified: BSB states its graduates progress to leading universities, supported by its A Level and IB Diploma pathways, though independent destination data is not published here.
School-reported, unverified: Oak House describes its class of 2025 as the highest-scoring IB cohort among all IB schools in Spain that year, with a university-entrance exam average of 7.11 against a Catalan average of 5.21 and a position among the top 20 schools in Catalonia.
More Comparisons
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose The British School of Barcelona or Oak House School?
The British School of Barcelona is best for: Families wanting a top-inspected British-curriculum education in the Barcelona area. Oak House School is best for: Families wanting their child to leave genuinely fluent in English, Spanish and Catalan. The right choice depends on target curriculum, budget, and family priorities — the two are not linearly comparable.
How do fees compare between The British School of Barcelona and Oak House School?
The British School of Barcelona: EUR 6,100-20,930/year (2026-2027), plus a one-off EUR 3,400 matriculation fee. Oak House School: Admission process fee 3,500 EUR (one-time, non-refundable); annual tuition published separately by the school (not stated as a fixed figure on the public fees page). Verify against each school's own published fees; some figures are sourced from third-party aggregators.
What curricula do The British School of Barcelona and Oak House School offer?
The British School of Barcelona: British, IB. Oak House School: British, IB, National. The British School of Barcelona inspection: British Schools Overseas (BSO) "Outstanding in Every Category". Oak House School inspection: NABSS (National Association of British Schools in Spain) "Accredited member".
Do The British School of Barcelona or Oak House School offer boarding?
The British School of Barcelona: day school only. Oak House School: day school only.
Questions parents ask
This comparison is BrightKey's independent assessment using verifiable public data only. University-placement figures are school-reported and not independently verified. BrightKey takes no payments from schools. Our method →